Cooking, Culture, Food, North East, Recipes, Southern

Cultural Conundrum

Growing up in the North East you tend to take on certain cultural norms for your area. The same is true for any culture anywhere in the world. I just happened to be raised in the country on a farm. Yes I know, 99% of the people who hear I’m from New York automatically think New York City. I’ve visited NYC several times and can tell you that I would never live there. It’s the country life for me!

Being from this rural area of NY left me with less of the NY minute mindset than you might normally think. I am much more laid back then someone from the city. My upbringing was more towards a Southern culture than a Yankee culture. However, that does not mean that I did not experience some culture shock when I first came down here. But it’s not quite what you may think.

So, where does the conundrum occur? It’s interesting you should ask. The conundrum is that I have found that I am more country than many southerners. Yes, I said it. Trust me I am watching for the pick-ups and mustangs when I cross the road. 😉 I will use the example of my wife. She was born and raised where we live in South Carolina. She’s a native through and through. She is a true born southerner unlike her Yankee husband. However, she has said herself that “I am more country than she is.” However, I am still a Yankee; a fact that has banned me from ever revealing my identity to her ‘Southern Belle Society”. She’d be removed and I’d be hung! Some things never change.

So ‘Green Acres‘ has been reborn (sort of) southern style. You see I may be the ‘country boy’ to her ‘city girl’ but unlike the Green Acres crew… I live in a city! Granted it’s not a big city but it’s still a city and many of the people here possess that ‘city attitude’ and mindset. It’s a strange mix of Yankee Culture mixed with Southern Culture and yet it works. I mean a Yankee country boy (yes that is possible for you southern unbelievers) married a Southern city girl. Will wonders never cease!

I have a great simple recipe for you. Like I said I come from New York and one of the things I did on the farm was make homemade maple syrup! Oh yeah! The good stuff!! In January you go out and tap the maple trees; A LOT OF TREES! It takes approximately 55 gallons of sap to make one gallon of syrup. Then you get a big ole fire going and a giant pan and dump the sap in and slowly cook it down until it thickens. This is not a job for someone who has no patience. It takes some time; a lot of time. The rewards, however, are oh so good!

Now for the recipe.

Pancakes! Yep, Pancakes. Only there is a little Yankee twist. Add syrup to the mix. Homemade is best but any will do. Trust me you will have the best tasting Pancakes you have ever had.

This is a recipe I found in my Grandmothers recipe box after she died. It’s been around since she was in her mid 20’s.

    Old Fashioned Maple Pancakes

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

3 3/4 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoon white sugar

1 1/2 cups milk

1 egg

3 tablespoons butter, melted

1 teaspoon of vanilla

2/3 cup of maple syrup

Directions

In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Make a well in the center and pour in the milk, vanilla, syrup, egg and melted butter; mix until smooth.

Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan (preferably cast iron on gas stove) over medium high heat. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/2 cup for each pancake. Brown on both sides and serve hot. Serves 6.


Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers